AFCNP 2016

2nd African College of Neuropsychopharmacology Congress


30 - 31 July
Location:Spier, Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa

Welcome to the 2nd annual meeting of the African College of Neuropsychopharmacology!Collegium International Neuro-psychoparmacologicum (or the International College of Neuropsychopharmacology) is the oldest and most august society in the area of neuropsychopharmacology. In recent decades, under its umbrella, colleges have been formed in the America (the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology), Europe (the European College of Neuropsychopharmacology), Asia (the Asian College of Neuropsychopharmacology), and elsewhere. Each of these colleges has a somewhat different flavour, but all are committed to enhancing research, education, and services related to neuropsychopharmacology.

It is timely for Africa to be part of this conversation and effort. Our meeting focuses primarily on updating clinicians about current thinking on pharmacological approaches to the major psychiatric disorders. At the same time, we have included a number of presentations and posters that are more focused on basic neuroscience. Ultimately we would like to see a strengthening of the conversation between basic and clinical scientists. Our thanks to CINP and ECNP for their support for this conference, to presenters from around the world for participating, and to you the delegates!

Dan Stein, Gerhard Grobler, Lukoye Atwoli

International Faculty

  1. Lukoye Atwoli, Moi University, School of Medicine (Kenya)
  2. David Baldwin – University of Southampton (United Kingdom)
  3. David Castle – University of Melbourne (Australia)
  4. Brian Dean – Melbourne (Australia)
  5. Damiaan Denys – Amsterdam (Netherlands)
  6. Gregers Wegener – Aarhus University (Denmark)
  7. Joseph Zohar – Sheba Medical Center Hospital, Tel Aviv, Israel (Supported by ECNP)

Local Faculty

  1. Samantha Brooks – Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town (South Africa)
  2. Prof Bonga Chiliza – Stellenbosch University (South Africa)
  3. Dr Eric DeCloedt – Stellenbosch University, Cape Town (South Africa)
  4. Jantina de Vries – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  5. Gerhard Grobler – Steve Biko Academic Hospital (South Africa)
  6. John Joska – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  7. Kerry-Ann Louw – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  8. Solomon Rataemane – Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) – (South Africa)
  9. Dan Stein – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  10. Mike West – University of Cape Town (South Africa)
  11. Bavi Vythilingum – Rondebosch Medical Centre, Cape Town (South Africa)
  12. Zuki Zingela – Walter Sisulu University (South Africa)